With Google Drive, individuals and organizations can store, share and interact with one another irrespective of difference in location and time zones. Over the years Google Drive has been susceptible to hackers. Users have complained severally about receiving uncontrollable amounts of spam-filled documents. Google is introducing a block feature in Drive as a way of tackling this. In a blog post by the tech company it said that “Drive’s sharing capabilities fuel productivity and collaboration, but bad actors can abuse tools that are meant to facilitate helpful sharing. That’s why it’s important to have the necessary security controls in place to fend off these sharing threats”.
The new user blocking feature will help users in numerous ways and they would truly be in control of their accounts. The new user blocking feature, when activated, will block other users from sharing content with users who have been target of spams. The new feature will also automatically remove all existing folders and files that have been received from the blocked user/sender; this is a faster and efficient way to remove all spam content received. The new blocking tool will also function by removing a person’s access to a user’s content, irrespective of whether they have had previous access to it.
Google is all about ensuring safety across all its platforms and came up with this new feature specifically to protect the safety of users.
The company has not revealed when this feature will be added but it is expected to be available on Google Drive in the coming months.
Google unveiled its Android 12 operating system at its I/O event that took place on the 18th of May, 2021. Google also announced new developments and upgrade across its apps. The tech company announced new features on its Meet, Doc, Sheets, etc., platforms. The company also announced its partnership with Samsung and is combining its Wear OS with Samsung’s Tizen OS.
Google new block feature on Drive will help users be in total control of their accounts.