WhatsApp will no longer delete your account as previously announced. “No one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15th because of this update”, but there are conditions to this.
Users who plan on delaying or completely rejecting the policy will have to get ready for WhatsApp’s constant notification asking them to accept the terms. “After giving everyone time to review, we’re continuing to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent”, WhatsApp said.
Constant reminders will not be the only thing to worry about. “At that time, you’ll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates”, the Facebook-owned company said. There also will be no deadline for how long users will receive these notifications but “this will not happen to all users at the same time”, WhatsApp says.
Users who plan to reject should also look forward to being able to receive only voice and video calls. They will be unable to read messages or access them. Good thing is, users will be able to respond to voice and video calls that they have missed.
According to information on WhatsApp’s FAQ page, “After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone”. Users can although prevent getting to this stage by simply exporting their chat history. Apps like Telegram and Signal have these features.
WhatsApp also revealed that the Inactive Accounts Policy will apply for these accounts after some time.
WhatsApp also recently announced that it is testing its UPI payments feature.